Reviews: Sibelius 1 with Osmo Vanska

Further reviews of Osmo Vänskä’s first concert in his Sibelius Symphoy cycle with the London Philharmonic Orchestra (27 Jan 2010).

Richard Morrison in The Times  (5 stars):

This pulsating concert was the best possible advertisement for the rest of Osmo Vänskä’s Sibelius cycle. If he and the stunningly vitalised London Philharmonic can produce this degree of excitement in such supposedly inessential works as the First Symphony and The Wood Nymph, what might they achieve in the masterpieces ahead?

George Hall in The Guardian:

Throughout the programme, the LPO was expertly attuned to the ­conductor’s intentions, nowhere more so than in a tightly controlled yet apparently spontaneous account of the First Symphony. In a performance as immaculately realised as this, its status as Sibelius’s first masterpiece of ­concentration was reaffirmed.

Plus Richard Whitehouse on ClassicalSource

Osmo Vänskä conductor
Henning Kraggerud violin

Sibelius Wood Nymph, Op.15
Sibelius Six Humoresques for Violin and Orchestra
Sibelius Symphony 1

Further concerts: 30 Jan, 3 & 5 Feb 2010

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: