Reviews: Petrenko conducts Shostakovich

Conductor Vasily Petrenko made his London Philharmonic Orchestra concert debut in an all-Russian programme of Stravinsky, Prokofiev and Shostakovich.

Reviewed by Edward Seckerson in The Independent (5 stars):
“The big graphic moments seemed more hair-raising than ever: only Shostakovich could have deployed music’s most formal device, a fugue, to re-enact a massacre of such remorseless brutality. The advancing percussion battery crushed all before it, trumpet crescendos strafed the texture. One’s heart leapt with the major key transformation of the slow movement then quietly mourned with the great cor anglais solo (Sue Bohling) of the finale.”

The pre-concert talk with Vasily Petrenko and writer and broadcaster David Nice (whose review is on TheArtsDesk)  will be available as a podcast in early December.

24 November 2010

Stravinsky Scherzo fantastique
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3
Shostakovich Symphony No. 11

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Oleg Marshev piano

Find out more aboout LPO concerts and recordings at

Stay in touch on facebook ( and twitter (

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: