Reviews: 16 November 2011 – Osmo Vänskä conducts Tchaikovsky and Bruckner

The London Philharmonic Orchestra performed Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto and Bruckner’s Symphony No. 4 at the Royal Festival Hall on Wednesday 16 November, under conductor Osmo Vänskä with violinist Janine Jansen.

Reviewed by Erica Jeal in The Guardian:
Jansen’s playing was full of personality – and, under Osmo Vänskä’s meticulous direction, the orchestra matched her at every step, from the soft-grained string opening, through the whispered slow-movement accompaniments, to the colourful wind solos in the finale.

Reviewed by Colin Anderson on
The LPO and Vänskä were faithful accompanists (full of expectation from the off) and woodwind solos were quite lovely; especially from flute and clarinet in the middle-movement ‘Canzonetta’.

Reviewed by Geoff Brown on
Along the way through the symphony’s peaks and valleys, the LPO’s playing achieved exceptional refinement. We’ll forget the odd fluff in the brass; what counted much more were the horn calls’ pristine beauty; or the loving, unapologetic treatment of the humble melody during what Bruckner called the Scherzo’s ‘lunch break’; or the cellos’ velvet glow, specifically emphasised by Vänskä within the orchestral textures.

Reviewed by Hilary Finch in The Times (available to paid subscribers only):
Osmo Vänskä is now well on the way to becoming a distinguished Brucknerian. Or so it seemed on the evidence of his recent visit to the London Philharmonic, when he put the orchestra through its paces in a buoyant and searching performance of Bruckner’s Fourth Symphony.

Reviewed by Ken Ward, Editor of The Bruckner Journal on
It was a performance that raised interesting and provoking questions about how you might perform a Bruckner symphony with a light classical touch, rather than the heavy, monumental and deeply emotional romanticism that is characteristic of most performances, and as such it was a considered and thoughtful approach.
Follow us on Twitter: @LPOrchestra

One Response to Reviews: 16 November 2011 – Osmo Vänskä conducts Tchaikovsky and Bruckner


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: