Julian Anderson – winner at last night’s British Composer Awards

We were delighted to hear that the orchestral work Fantasias by Julian Anderson, the London Philharmonic Orchestra’s Composer in Residence, won the Orchestral Music category in last night’s 2011 British Composer Awards, held at Stationers’ Hall, London.

Fantasias will be performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Vladimir Jurowski at Royal Festival Hall this Saturday, 3 December, at 7.30pm, alongside works by Mozart and Tchaikovsky. There will also be a free pre-concert discussion at 6.15pm in which Julian introduces his work.

Find out more, buy concert tickets, and listen to Julian Anderson discussing Fantasias here.

Julian also won the Liturgical Music prize for his Bell Mass. The awards will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 in Sunday Concert on Sunday 4 December from 2pm.

Full list of award winners here
Julian Anderson on the Faber Music website

One Response to Julian Anderson – winner at last night’s British Composer Awards

  1. […] London Philharmonic Orchestra performed Julian Anderson’s Fantasias (recent winner at the British Composer Awards), Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 5 and Tchaikovsky’s Manfred Symphony at the Royal […]


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: