Reviews: 8 February 2012 – Marin Alsop & Stephen Hough

On Wednesday 8 February, the London Philharmonic Orchestra performed Martinů’s Symphony No. 6, Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8, and Liszt’s Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2, under conductor Marin Alsop with pianist Stephen Hough at Royal Festival Hall.

The concert was broadcast live on BBC Radio 3, and is available to listen again here free of charge until 15 February.

Reviewed by Igor Toronyi-Lalic, The Arts Desk:
There was some lovely section playing from the first violins and the woodwind, especially in the delicate burbling in the Martinů. And the many solo contributions were extremely fine. Lead violin Lisa Schatzman made you sit up and listen every time she took control and chief flautist Jaime Martin was as winning as ever.

Reviewed by Nick Kimberley, Evening Standard:
If performing Liszt’s piano music were an Olympic event, Stephen Hough would be a gold medal contender … He certainly has the power for the frenzied pounding that, especially in the First Concerto, Liszt throws down as a challenge to the soloist. Yet there was also brooding lyricism and moments of reflective calm that Hough imbued with his own highly personal poetry.

Reviewed by Colin Anderson,
With spot-on accompaniments from Alsop and the LPO, and notable solos from wind and string principals, Hough was in debonair form – barnstorming, glittering and pliant.
Follow us on Twitter: @LPOrchestra

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: