More reviews: 8 February 2012 – Marin Alsop & Stephen Hough

On Wednesday 8 February, the London Philharmonic Orchestra performed Martinů’s Symphony No. 6, Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8, and Liszt’s Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2, under conductor Marin Alsop with pianist Stephen Hough at Royal Festival Hall.

The concert was broadcast live on BBC Radio 3, and is available to listen again here free of charge until 15 February.

Reviewed by Andrew Clements, The Guardian:
Hough managed to combine … excitement and drama with a keyboard finesse and precision that were sometimes breathtakingly vivid.

Previous reviews here.
Follow us on Twitter: @LPOrchestra

One Response to More reviews: 8 February 2012 – Marin Alsop & Stephen Hough

  1. Alex Igel says:

    I completely disagree with Andrew Clements “emotional intensity.” is an integral part of the Martinu package it just goes to show the paucity of his knowledge. Why not listen to all the other 5 symphonies and in particular No4 or the Violin Concerto No2 and then lets talk about Emotional Intensity. Martinu’s music is awash with Emotional Intensity and it’s a travesty that his music is hardly played.

    Maybe you should go back and listen to James Last


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: