More reviews: 28 March 2012 – Matthew Coorey & Lisa Batiashvili

On Wednesday 28 March, the London Philharmonic Orchestra performed Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 3 with soloist/director Lisa Batiashvili, and Mahler’s Symphony No. 9 under conductor Matthew Coorey. We are very grateful to Matthew, who stepped in for an ill Yannick Nézet-Séguin at extremely short notice.

Reviewed by Geoff Diggines, Seen and Heard International:
‘Coorey, unlike many famous Mahler conductors, understands that Mahler wants a great adagio finale, but also one which is ‘restrained’ … Throughout this movement the LPO’s playing was impressively committed … . I shall certainly be looking out for more from Mr Coorey. Despite shortcomings in the other movements, this was an impressive Mahler 9. The excellent final adagio alone made this concert a musical event that I shall remember long into the future.’

Read earlier reviews of the concert here

Let us know what you thought of the concert!
Facebook: londonphilharmonicorchestra
Twitter: @LPOrchestra

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: