Reviews: 28 March 2012 – Matthew Coorey & Lisa Batiashvili

On Wednesday 28 March, the London Philharmonic Orchestra performed Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 3 with soloist/director Lisa Batiashvili, and Mahler’s Symphony No. 9 under conductor Matthew Coorey. We are very grateful to Matthew, who stepped in for an ill Yannick Nézet-Séguin at extremely short notice.

Reviewed by Colin Anderson,
‘Coorey conjured a clear-sighted, well-versed account that was always going somewhere and which arrived there (climaxes blazed and the delicate intertwining of ‘chamber music’ solos was confident) … Best, probably, was the slow finale like the first movement persuasively paced, deeply felt without becoming mawkish and with the ‘string trio’ of Pieter Schoeman, David Marks and Kristina Blaumane exceptionally eloquent and heartfelt, the music’s increasing fragility and pausing well-managed to close a very creditable performance.’

Reviewed by James Potter,
‘Batiashvili tapped into her background in quartet playing, which helped her to articulate the essential dynamic of any concerto: the interplay between solo and orchestra. She was alive to the musical impulses of the piece, communicating them with the orchestra but also sharing them with us, with characterful phrasing and effortless virtuosity.’

Let us know what you thought of the concert!
Facebook: londonphilharmonicorchestra
Twitter: @LPOrchestra

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: