Reviews: 18 April 2012 – Osmo Vänskä & Colin Currie

On Wednesday 18 April, the London Philharmonic Orchestra and soloist Colin Currie, under conductor Osmo Vänskä, gave the world première of Sieidi: Concerto for Percussion and Orchestra by Finnish composer Kalevi Aho. The programme also included Schumann’s Genoveva Overture and Brahms’s Symphony No. 1

Reviewed by Nick Kimberley, The Evening Standard:
‘Aho conjured up a different orchestral atmosphere for each station on Currie’s journey; whining sax over vibraphone recalled Debussy, sinuous rhythms suggested the swaying of an exotic dancer, one section with castanets might have worked on Broadway Meanwhile, Currie progressed with calm authority through an anthology of modern percussion gestures, using hands, sticks, mallets, brushes and bows to coax life into his instruments … Sieidi was vivid, colourful, entertaining.’

Reviewed by Geoff Brown, The Arts Desk:
‘The spatial effects were briefly striking, while Currie’s furious drumming was exciting: it always is. But I couldn’t help wishing that he was using his powers on music that went beyond being a hollow monument.’

The concert was broadcast live on BBC Radio 3 and you can listen again free here until 25 April.

Let us know what you thought of the concert!
Facebook: londonphilharmonicorchestra
Twitter: @LPOrchestra

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: