More reviews: 18 April 2012 – Osmo Vänskä & Colin Currie

On Wednesday 18 April, the London Philharmonic Orchestra and soloist Colin Currie, under conductor Osmo Vänskä, gave the world première of Sieidi: Concerto for Percussion and Orchestra by Finnish composer Kalevi Aho. The programme also included Schumann’s Genoveva Overture and Brahms’s Symphony No. 1

Reviewed by Andrew Morris,
‘Colin Currie tackled the work with a winningly energetic panache and Osmo Vänskä steered the London Philharmonic through a confident reading.’

Reviewed by Guy Dammann, The Guardian:
Currie and the London Philharmonic performed the work beautifully, led by Aho’s compatriot Osmo Vänskä.’

Read earlier reviews of the concert here

The concert was broadcast live on BBC Radio 3 and you can listen again free here until 25 April.

Let us know what you thought of the concert!
Facebook: londonphilharmonicorchestra
Twitter: @LPOrchestra

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: