New Foyle Future Firsts Members Announced

After around 500 applications and nearly 200 auditions involving London Philharmonic Orchestra principals and senior players, we are delighted to announce our Foyle Future First Members for 2012-13.

The 16 musicians will spend a year with the LPO sitting in and playing in rehearsals, having lessons with LPO Principals, gaining experience in mock auditions, performing as a chamber group, performing alongside LPO musicians at Debut Sounds (June 2013) and getting involved in the wider Education & Community programme.

The 16 young instrumentalists are:

Stephanie Tepper – Flute            
Lucinda Dalton – Oboe
Adam Slater – Clarinet
Sophie Robertshaw – Bassoon
Anna Ovsyanikova – Violin
Elizabeth Lamberton – Violin
Steve Doman – Viola
Anne Chauveau – Cello
Katy Furmanski – Double Bass
Mark Bennett – French Horn
Hannah Bishop – Trumpet
Barry Clements – Bass Trombone
Raymond Hearne – Tuba
SoYeong Kim – Piano
Toby Kearney – Percussion and Timpani
Rebecca Royce – Harp

Their performances this season include:

  • Wednesday 20 February, 6pm – a performance of Les Maries de la Tour Eiffel by Les Six (orch. Constant) prior to the LPO’s performance at 7.30pm featuring Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 (From the New World) and Milhaud’s La Création du monde, conducted by Marin Alsop.
  • Saturday 2 March, 6pm and 9.45pm – a performance of Weill’s Mahagonny Songspiel before and after the LPO’s performance of The Threepenny Opera, conducted by Vladimir Jurowski.

The Foyle Future Firsts Programme is generously funded by The Foyle Foundation with additional support from the Angus Allnatt Charitable Foundation, the Idlewild Trust, the Lord and Lady Lurgan Trust, the Seary Charitable Trust and the Musicians Benevolent Fund.

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: