Reviews: 28 November 2012 – Vladimir Jurowski conducts Beethoven, Schoenberg & Nono

On Wednesday 28 November, Vladimir Jurowski conducted the London Philharmonic Orchestra at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall in Beethoven’s Fidelio Overture; Schoenberg’s Ode to Napoleon Bonaparte and A Survivor from Warsaw; Nono’s Julius Fučík; and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5. Annabel Arden was the director, and the solo speakers were Omar Ebrahim, Malcolm Sinclair and Robert Hayward. The concert also featured the Gentlemen of the London Philharmonic Choir.

Here’s what the reviewers had to say…

‘This account of Ode was very persuasive, the strings precise, Catherine Edwards notable at the piano, and Robert Hayward simply superb in his Sprechgesang, enunciating much character and sentiment, living every syllable.’
Colin Anderson, Classical Source

 ‘It was, moreover, a rare pleasure to experience such bold and coherent programming … Obar Ebrahim and Malcolm Sinclair offered excellent performances [in the Nono]. This excellent account, antiphonal drumming and all, exuded brutality, psychoticism, and yet inviting, spellbinding beauty.’
Mark Berry, Boulezian blog

‘Narrated again by Hayward but this time with palpable passion, and bolstered by the male voices of the LPO choir, Schoenberg’s achingly spare symbiosis of voice and orchestra emerged with the most intense expressiveness.’
Michael Church, The Independent

‘This was undeniably remarkable programming, and it’s a thrill to have all these issues presented within a single evening. If only more concerts could be as lucid and provocative as this.’
Paul Kilbey, Bachtrack

Jurowski and the LPO return to Royal Festival Hall on Saturday 1 December to perform Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s Ecclesiastical Action and Brahms’s German Requiem.  Tickets are still available and can be booked via the LPO Box Office on 020 7840 4242, from the LPO website, or bought on the door.

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: