ListenAgain: 14 December 2012 concert now online

The next in our series of ListenAgain concerts is online – you can listen again free online until 18 January.

Brahms Tragic Overture
Wagner (arr. Henze) Wesendonck Lieder
Bruckner Symphony No. 1 (1877 Linz edition)

Vladimir Jurowski conductor
Anna Larsson contralto

You can also download the programme notes free online. 

Reviews of the concert:

‘The Adagio [of the Bruckner] is built on whiffs of themes forming into a noble, even redemptive utterance, from which Jurowski created a deep spiritual reverie. With an exhilarating scherzo and a related trio, and a finale that grew to a jubilant homecoming – in which, as throughout, Simon Carrington’s timpani-playing was firm and assertive and the LPO as a whole was blazing –, this was a notable reading that (re-)illuminated the work, Jurowski loyal to Bruckner’s characteristic strangeness and delays as well as being contrapuntally exhaustive.’
Colin Anderson, Classical Source

‘To Jurowski’s credit the Scherzo generated some wild excitement and the Finale never got bogged down and maintained its momentum to its exciting closing bars.’
Jim Pritchard, Seen and Heard International

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

%d bloggers like this: